State Specific Model Rocket Engine Regulations
State Specific Regulations
The hobby of model rocketry is legal in every state in the United States. However, four states have laws and regulations that specify certain age or permit requirements.
In California, to purchase model rocket engines through size "D", one must be at least 14 years of age. To purchase larger model rocket engines, one must be 18 years of age. When finding locations to fly, permission of the landowner or local fire marshal may be required. Additionally, many areas have pre-approved launch sites and times. Children, age 12, may receive and use model rocket engines under adult supervision.
In New Jersey one must be at least 14 years of age to purchase model rocket engines through size “C” and must be 18 years of age to purchase larger model rocket engines. Children as young as 12 years of age may launch model rocket engines under adult supervision.
In Rhode Island, you must be 16 years of age or older to purchase and use model rocket engines through size F.
In North Dakota, those 10 years of age may purchase motors through size D. In order to purchase larger model rocket engines, you must be 14 years of age or older. In order to launch model rockets, verbal or written authorization of the local fire marshal and landowner are required before launching. Launching and recovery areas may not be located within 5 miles of any airport without permission from the appropriate authority.